life and times . . . . a waverider's perspective

Who’s To Say???

Who’s to say what’s ‘impossible’?  Why is it that most Westerners pretend that being negative means being ‘realistic’, or even ‘objective’?  Why are so many threatened so deeply by even the simplest of challenges to their delicate belief systems?  Food for thought . . . .

I started learning to surf in the early 70’s in SoCal.  No leashes, no lifeguards, lose your board and you have to swim all the way into shore, then fight the waves to get back out – IF you didn’t get the board ripped out of your arms by some huge wave while attempting that, forcing you to go all the way into shore again and start over (ugh!).  You also ran the risk of having some jerk try to steal your board while you were swimming in to recover it (yeah, it did happen to me once when I was 10 or 11, had to chase the Valley thieves down and fight one of them to get it back.  No shit.).  Why are so many egos so dead set on ‘stealing’ others’ joy?  My childhood adventures serve as an interesting metaphor for these epic times, as all that we were basically forced to accept as our ‘reality’ gets turned upside down — to the great consternation and alarm of many whose ‘investment’ in the status quo is no longer ‘paying off’ quite like they expected it to . . . . . 

ImageAnyway, the song ‘Upside Down’ in this post represents a beautiful expression of ATTITUDE and DREAMING that, though I didn’t actually see the movie 5 Summer Stories till the 1980’s – and didn’t really listen to this song till recently – has been pretty much where I’ve been coming from since my pre-teen years.  It also represents a most adaptive and expansive approach to the NOW times we are deep into, the ‘thick of it’ as some have characterized this brief period of chaotic upheaval in this magnificent sacred timeline.  I hope it helps uplift and inspire you as much (or more) as it does me.  I, for One, am striving with all my BEing to prevent anyone, or anything, from forcing ‘this feeling’ to go away, from stealing my Joy 😉

I highly recommend that you watch the video clip with this song, as it adds much ‘context’ and ‘texture’ to the experience.  It’s from one of the Pipeline surfing sequences in that old classic 1972 surf movie, one of the very first of its kind:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUDlqFJ0e4s

“Upside Down” by Jack Johnson

 Who’s to say what’s impossible?
Well they forgot

This world keeps spinning and with each new day
I can feel a change in everything
And as the surface breaks, reflections fade
But in some ways they remain the same
And as my mind begins to spread its wings
There’s no stopping curiosity

I want to turn the whole thing upside down
I’ll find the things they say just can’t be found
I’ll share this Love I find with everyone
We’ll sing and dance to Mother Nature’s songs
I don’t want this feeling to go away

Who’s to say
I can’t do everything?
Well I can try!
And as I roll along I begin to find
Things aren’t always just what they seem

I want to turn the whole thing upside down
I’ll find the things they say just can’t be found
I’ll share this Love I find with everyone
We’ll sing and dance to Mother Nature’s songs
This world keeps spinning and there’s no time to waste

Well it all keeps spinning spinning round and round and

Upside down
Who’s to say what’s impossible and can’t be found?
I don’t want this feeling to go away

Please don’t go away . . . .

Is this how it’s supposed to be?

Comments on: "Who’s To Say???" (4)

  1. beautiful! Thanx, Alex!

    Like

  2. tinroofproperties said:

    Excellent post Alexander… Seems all is very well with you. I just got back from the Colorado river and family for Thanksgiving…Loved it!

    *Cam Williams*

    Marketing Gurus

    Global Guide to Healthy Living

    Face Book

    Like

  3. Awe beautiful…i love surfing. Cheers darling!

    Like

  4. We Baby Boomers and love/flower power are BACK!!!!!! YES!
    Love and Sparkles,
    Brenda

    Like

Please Comment or Expand on this if you resonate with the above. . . . .

Tag Cloud

